Homepage
Recording Philosophy
Label Philosophy
New Releases
Genuin News
Links
Team
Contakt
Label Philosophy
Worldwide Distribution
Genuin Artists

Lux Nova Duo

Fantastic, bravo! Your profound musical artistry is easily recognizable! Cuban conductor and composer and 2017 Grammy Award winner Leo Brouwer about the Lux Nova Duo

The Hamburg-based Lux Nova Duo consists of Peruvian guitarist Jorge Paz Verastegui and German accordionist Lydia Schmidl. The innate sense of ensemble of the duo is so strong that they are also a couple in private life. Founded in 2012 in the inspiring city of Barcelona, the duo is an unusual pairing that sheds new light on each instrument.

Based on their diverse cultural backgrounds, the duo put together exciting recital programs: from lively Baroque music to South American rhythms and experimental sounds. In addition to giving recitals as a classical duo, they also collaborate in multimedia work with ballet—for example with Winnie Dias and the Hamburg Ballett John Neumeier—with choirs such as the Cuori-Ensemble and the Coro de Madrigalistas, and have performed with the chamber ensemble Konsonanz.

The two instrumentalists have also frequently been involved in the creation of new compositions. Numerous world premieres have represented special moments in the duo’s musical life. Several compositions have already been dedicated to the innovative ensemble. Among various premieres on CD, they have recorded works by the Spanish composer José Maria Sánchez-Verdú.

The duo also works closely with composers from all over the world, including Leo Brouwer. The Grammy Award winner is considered one of the most important composers in South America. The Argentinian composer Mario Marcelo Mary also dedicated the piece Misteriosa persistencia to the Lux Nova Duo. Their debut concert in the Elbphilharmonie featured a performance of the world premiere of a work by renowned Peruvian composer Alejandro Núñez Allauca. He combines European compositional techniques with mystical sounds from the Andes.

Numerous concerts have taken the Lux Nova Duo to Spain, Italy, South America and throughout Germany. They have performed at the Elbphilharmonie, the Laeiszhalle, the Glocke Bremen, the Resonanzraum Hamburg and the Auditorium Enrique Granados Lleida, the ZKM Karlsruhe, Festival Klub Katarakt, Hamburg’s Kampnagel Theater, the Brandenburg Summer Concerts, Festival Josep Soler Barcelona and the Forum Neue Musik Hamburg.

In 2014 and 2018 they gave several concerts in South America, including performances at the German-Peruvian Institute and Catholic University of Lima. In addition to performing in recital, the duo places special emphasis on working with young composers, musical outreach and educational concerts.

The Lux Nova Duo is regularly involved in various CD projects. Their debut CD Intuiciones featuring Spanish/Latin American repertoire was a competition prize at the University of the Arts Bremen. In the following year Schmidl and Verastegui recorded the CD Hamburg Dialogues (featuring Hamburg composers).

Their current recital program Inspiración Bach follows in the footsteps of the Baroque composer all the way to the present day, while showing off their own stylistic versatility: Have you already heard how jazz music is linked to Bach? What does Shostakovich sound like on the guitar and accordion?

Jorge Paz Verastegui studied with Nelly Borda and Oscar Zamora at the Conservatorio Nacional de Música del Perú. He continued his studies with Alex Garrobé at the Escola superior de musica de Catalunya (Barcelona) with a minor in Baroque guitar and Renaissance lute with Monica Pustilnik. In 2015 he completed his master‘s degree with top marks at the Hamburg University of Music and Theatre in the class of Olaf van Gonnissen.

Jorge Paz Verastegui performed the Concierto para guitarra y orquesta by Edgar Valcárcel and Tres danzas concertantes with the Orquesta Sinfónica Nacional del Perú under the direction of Manuel Elias. He performed the same concerto in 2017 with the chamber ensemble Konsonanz at the Leiszhalle in Hamburg.
Jorge Paz Verastegui worked with composers such as Edgar Valcarcel, Leo Brouwer, Manfred Stahnke, Georg Hajdu, Xioyong Chen, Luis David Aguilar, Alejandro Nunez Allauca and Tristan Köster on the world premiere of various works for guitar. He plays a guitar made by Marius Redeker in 2017.


Lydia Schmidl studied with Ivan Koval in Weimar as well as with Claudia Buder at the Franz Liszt University of Music (Weimar). She continued her studies with Iñaki Alberdi at the Escola superior de musica de Catalunya (Barcelona). In the summer of 2015 she completed her master‘s degree in accordion with Margit Kern at the University of the Arts Bremen.

She was accepted into the support programme stART.up of the Claussen Simon-Foundation in 2019 and—as a soloist with the the chamber ensemble Konsonanz—she was part of the first performance of the arrangement for accordion of Omaggio a Piazzolla by the Peruvian composer Alejandro Nuñez Allauca in the Laeiszhalle Hamburg in 2017.

She also played with the Ensemble New Babylon Bremen and worked there with the
composers Klaus Huber and Younghi Pagh-Paan. In December 2013 she interpreted the
piece quartet by Rebecca Saunders in a composer portrait in Osnabrück.

Photo: Marcus Engler

The Artist's Homepage: http://www.lux-nova-duo.com/


Inspiración Bach

Works by J.S. Bach, Köster, Núñez Allauca, Rameau, Sánchez-Verdú, Shostakovich, Sprenger and Uzor

Lux Nova Duo

GEN 20708Katalog

Homepage
Aufnahme-Philosophie
Label-Philosophie
Neuerscheinungen
Genuin News
Links
Team
Kontakt
Label-Philosophie
Weltweite Vertriebe
Genuin-Künstler

Lux Nova Duo

Fantastisch, bravo! Man bemerkt eure tiefgründige musikalische Arbeit! Leo Brouwer (Kubanischer Dirigent und Komponist und Grammy-Gewinner 2017) über das Lux Nova Duo

Das Hamburger Lux Nova Duo besteht aus dem peruanischen Gitarristen Jorge Paz Verastegui und der deutschen Akkordeonistin Lydia Schmidl. Die beiden Musiker harmonieren so gut miteinander, dass sie auch privat ein Paar sind. Das Duo gründete sich 2012 im inspirierenden Barcelona und wirft durch die ungewöhnliche Kombination ein neues Licht auf beide Instrumente.

Durch ihren vielseitigen kulturellen Hintergrund stellt das Duo spannende Konzertprogramme zusammen: von spritziger Barockmusik über südamerikanische Rhythmen bis hin zu experimentellen Klängen. Neben der klassischen Duo-Formation arbeiten sie multimedial, mit Ballett – beispielsweise mit Winnie Dias, mit Chören wie dem Cuori-Ensemble sowie dem Coro de Madrigalistas und spielten mit dem Kammerensemble Konsonanz.

Darüber hinaus waren die beiden Instrumentalisten schon des Öfteren Teil der Entstehung von neuen Kompositionen. Zahlreiche Uraufführungen stellen besondere Momente im Musikleben des Duos dar. Der innovativen Besetzung wurden bereits einige Kompositionen gewidmet. Es erfolgten viele Ersteinspielungen auf CDs, beispielsweise eines Werkes des renommierten spanischen Komponisten José Maria Sánchez-Verdú.

Das musikalische Leben des Duos zeichnet sich durch Zusammenarbeit mit Komponisten aus aller Welt aus, darunter Leo Brouwer. Der Grammypreisträger gilt als einer der bedeutendsten Komponisten Südamerikas. Außerdem schrieb der argentinische Komponist Mario Marcelo Mary das Stück Misteriosa persistencia eigens für das Lux Nova Duo. Bei ihrem Debutkonzert in der Elbphilharmonie spielten sie eine Uraufführung des peruanischen Komponisten Alejandro Núñez Allauca. Er verbindet europäische Kompositionstechniken mit mystischen Klängen der Anden.

Zahlreiche Konzerte führen das Lux Nova Duo nach Spanien, Italien, Südamerika und Deutschland. Sie spielten u.a. in der Elbphilharmonie, der Laeiszhalle, der Glocke Bremen, dem Resonanzraum Hamburg, dem Auditorium Enrique Granados Lleida, im ZKM Karlsruhe, beim Festival Klub Katarakt auf Kampnagel, bei den Brandenburgischen Sommerkonzerten, beim Festival Josep Soler Barcelona und beim Forum Neue Musik Hamburg.

Im Jahr 2014 und 2018 reisten sie für mehrere Konzerte nach Südamerika und traten unter anderem im deutsch-peruanischen Institut und der katholischen Universität Limas auf. Im Rahmen ihrer Konzerttätigkeit sind den Musikern außerdem die Arbeit mit jungen Komponisten, der Bereich Musikvermittlung und pädagogische Konzerte besonders wichtig.

Neben einer regen Konzerttätigkeit arbeitet das Lux Nova Duo regelmäßig an verschiedenen CD-Projekten. Ihre Debut-CD Intuiciones mit spanisch/lateinamerikanischer Musik erschien als Wettbewerbspreis der Hochschule für Künste Bremen. Im darauffolgenden Jahr nahmen Schmidl und Verastegui die CD Hamburg Dialogues (Hamburger Komponisten im Fokus) auf.

Mit ihrem aktuellen Programm Inspiración Bach folgen sie den Spuren des barocken Komponisten bis in die Gegenwart und zeigen stilistische Vielfalt: Haben Sie schon einmal gehört, wie sich Jazzmusik mit Bach verbindet? Wie klingt Schostakowitsch mit Gitarre und Akkordeon?


Jorge Paz Verastegui studierte bei Nelly Borda und Oscar Zamora am Conservatorio Nacional de Música del Perú und setzte seine Studien bei Alex Garrobé an der Escola superior de musica de Catalunya (Barcelona) mit dem Nebenfach Barockgitarre und Renaissancelaute bei Monica Pustilnik fort. 2015 schloss er sein Masterstudium mit Bestnote im Fach Gitarre an der Hochschule für Musik und Theater Hamburg in der Klasse von Olaf van Gonnissen ab.

Mit dem Orquesta Sinfónica Nacional del Perú interpretierte Jorge Paz Verastegui das Concierto para guitarra y orquesta von Edgar Valcárcel und die Tres danzas concertantes unter der Leitung von Manuel Elias. Das gleiche Konzert führte er 2017 mit dem Kammerensemble Konsonanz in der Leiszhalle in Hamburg auf.

Jorge Paz Verastegui arbeitete mit Komponisten wie Edgar Valcarcel, Leo Brouwer, Manfred Stahnke, Georg Hajdu, Xioyong Chen, Luis David Aguilar, Alejandro Nunez Allauca und Tristan Köster an der Uraufführung verschiedener Werke für Gitarre. Er spielt eine Gitarre von Marius Redeker von 2017.


Lydia Schmidl studierte bei Ivan Koval und Claudia Buder an der Hochschule für Musik Franz Liszt Weimar und bei Iñaki Alberei an der Escola superior de musica Catalunya (Barcelona). Im Sommer 2015 schloss sie den künstlerischen Masterstudiengang im Fach Akkordeon bei Margit Kern an der Hochschule für Künste Bremen ab.

Sie wurde 2019 in das Förderprogramm stART.up der Claussen-Simon-Stiftung aufgenommen und spielte 2017 als Solistin mit dem Kammerensemble Konsonanz die Erstaufführung der Bearbeitung für Akkordeon des Omaggio a Piazzolla vom peruanischen Komponisten Alejandro Nuñez Allauca in der Laeiszhalle Hamburg.

Außerdem spielte sie mit dem Ensemble New Babylon Bremen und arbeitete dort mit den Komponisten Klaus Huber und Younghi Pagh-Paan. Im Dezember 2013 interpretierte sie das Stück quartett von Rebecca Saunders in einem Komponistenportrait in Osnabrück.

Foto: Marcus Engler

Die Künstler-Homepage: http://www.lux-nova-duo.com/


Inspiración Bach

Werke von J.S. Bach, Köster, Núñez Allauca, Rameau, Sánchez-Verdú, Schostakowitsch, Sprenger und Uzor

Lux Nova Duo

GEN 20708DetailsKatalog