Homepage
Recording Philosophy
Label Philosophy
New Releases
Genuin News
Links
Team
Contakt
Label Philosophy
Worldwide Distribution
Genuin Artists

Ognjen Popovic, Clarinet, Composer

Ognjen Popović was born in Pančevo, Serbia in 1977. In 1994 he initially studied at the State University of Music and the Performing Arts Stuttgart and pursued further studies starting in 1997 at the University of Music and Performing Arts Munich with Ulf Rodenhäuser. He has performed as a soloist with such leading ensembles as the Munich Philharmonic, the Chamber Orchestra of Europe, the Philharmonic of the Nations, the Belgrade Philharmonic, the Valencia Radio Orchestra and the Serbian RTS Symphony Orchestra. He has also worked as an orchestra member with Stuttgart’s State Opera, the Deutsche Kammerakademie Neuss, the Passau Symphony Orchestra and the Philharmonic of the Nations.

Ognjen Popović has won several prizes at international competitions including Jeunesses musicales in Belgrade and the Felix Mendelssohn Bartholdy Conservatory Competition. He has been principal clarinet of the Belgrade Philharmonic Orchestra since 2002. In the same year he founded the Balkan Chamber Academy ensemble, which performs with well-known musicians from around the world. He is featured on several CD recordings, including with his Ognjen Popović Band as well as with the highly respected Villa Musica chamber music ensemble. He has also performed with that ensemble throughout Europe and been a guest lecturer at the Villa Musica Academy of Chamber Music in Germany.

Ognjen Popović is the initiator and artistic director of the Classic Fest Chamber Music Festival in his native city of Pančevo. He regularly gives clarinet master classes in Serbia, Spain, Montenegro, Germany, Croatia and Slovenia. He has been teaching clarinet at the Faculty of Music (FMU) in Belgrade since 2010, where he received his PhD in 2012.

Ognjen Popović’s own compositions for clarinet and piano, as well as various chamber music works, are published by Köbl in Munich.

Photo: Marko Djoković


Reunion

Works by Bozza, Burgmüller, Arnold, Müller, Popovic, Saint-Saëns and Yuste

Mirjana Rajic, Piano - Ognjen Popovic, Clarinet, Composer

GEN 20557Katalog

Homepage
Aufnahme-Philosophie
Label-Philosophie
Neuerscheinungen
Genuin News
Links
Team
Kontakt
Label-Philosophie
Weltweite Vertriebe
Genuin-Künstler

Ognjen Popovic, Klarinette, Komponist

Ognjen Popović wurde 1977 in Pančevo/Serbien geboren. Ab 1994 studierte er an der HMDK Stuttgart und ab 1997 an der Hochschule für Musik und Theater München in der Klasse von Ulf Rodenhäuser. Als Solist trat er unter anderem mit den Münchner Philharmonikern, dem Chamber Orchestra of Europe, der Philharmonie der Nationen, den Belgrader Philharmonikern, dem Rundfunkorchester Valencia und dem Serbischen Rundfunkorchester auf. Als Orchestermusiker arbeitete er mit den Orchestern der Staatsoper Stuttgart und der Deutschen Kammerakademie Neuss am Rhein, dem Sinfonieorchester in Passau und der Philharmonie der Nationen zusammen.

Bei internationalen Wettbewerben gewann Ognjen Popović, unter anderem den ,,Jeunesses musicales” Belgrad und den Felix Mendelssohn Bartholdy Hochschulwettbewerb. Seit 2002 ist er als erster Klarinettist bei den Belgrader Philharmonikern angestellt. Im selben Jahr gründete er das Kammerensemble Balkan Chamber Academy, in dem bekannte Musiker aus aller Welt mitwirken. Er ist auf mehreren CD-Aufnahmen zu hören, beispielsweise mit seiner Ognjen Popović Band und dem bekannten deutschen Kammerensemble Villa Musica. Mit diesem Ensemble trat er europaweit auf, und war auch als Gastdozent tätig.

Ognjen Popović ist Initiator und künstlerischer Leiter des Kammermusikfestivals Classic Fest in seiner Heimatstadt Pančevo. Er leitet regelmäßig Meisterkurse für Klarinette in Serbien, Spanien, Montenegro, Deutschland, Kroatien und Slowenien. Seit 2010 ist er Klarinettenprofessor an der Hochschule für Musik in Belgrad und erlangte im Jahr 2012 seinen Doktortitel.

Seine Werke für Klarinette und Klavier, sowie verschiedene Kammermusikstücke werden vom Notenverlag Köbl in München herausgegeben.

Foto: Marko Djoković


Reunion

Werke von Bozza, Burgmüller, Arnold, Müller, Popovic, Saint-Saëns and Yuste

Mirjana Rajic, Klavier - Ognjen Popovic, Klarinette, Komponist

GEN 20557DetailsKatalog