Homepage
Recording Philosophy
Label Philosophy
New Releases
Genuin News
Links
Team
Contakt
Label Philosophy
Worldwide Distribution
Genuin Artists

Thorsten Johanns, Clarinet

Thorsten Johanns is a clarinetist whose stylistic versatility and keen sense of musical communication have made him both highly regarded and in international demand as a soloist, orchestral member, chamber musician and teacher.

At the early age of 22, during his clarinet studies under Ralph Manno at the Hochschule für Musik und Tanz Köln, he took his first position as deputy principal clarinetist with the Essener Philharmoniker. Three years later, he became the principal clarinetist in the WDR Symphony Orchestra, a position that he held until 2015, after which he continued to appear regularly with the orchestra as a guest.

To date, Thorsten Johanns remains the only German clarinetist to have been personally invited to New York on a number of occasions by principal conductor Alan Gilbert to play with the New York Philharmonic Orchestra as principal clarinetist. Further guest engagements as principal clarinetist followed with the Berliner Philharmoniker, the Bavarian Radio Symphony Orchestra, The Munic Philharmonics and the NDR Elbphilharmonie Orchestra, among others.

As a soloist, Thorsten Johanns regularly performs with renowned orchestras and conductors. In the past, these have included Sir Neville Marriner, Semyon Bychkov, the WDR Symphony Orchestra, the Orchestre de chambre de Paris, the Stavanger Symphony Orchestra and the National Radio Orchestra of Romania.

In addition to prestigious string quartets (Aris, Auryn, Diogenes, Minetti), his chamber music partners include oboist and composer Heinz Holliger and pianist and composer Moritz Eggert. Thorsten Johanns is a member of the worldwide-performing Ensemble Raro and the Deutsche Bläsersolisten. He is also a member of the renowned ensemble Spectrum Concerts Berlin.

Thorsten Johanns has been a guest at numerous international festivals (Schleswig-Holstein, Mecklenburg-Vorpommern, Lucerne, Tyrolean Festival Erl, SoNoRo in Bucharest, Rheingau Musik Festival, Festival Academy Budapest Kuhmo Chamber Music Festival, among others) and involved in several successful CD productions including an ECHO-Klassik award in 2008.

In 2014, Thorsten Johanns accepted the position of professor for clarinet at the University of Music Franz Liszt Weimar. He also regularly gives master classes. Over the past few years, these have taken him to China, Australia, Canada, Germany, Scandinavia and the Netherlands.

Photo: Guido Werner

The Artist's Homepage: https://thorstenjohanns.com/


Johannes Brahms

String Quartet C minor, Op. 51/1, Clarinet Quintet, Op. 115

Aris Quartett - Thorsten Johanns, Clarinet

GEN 20704Katalog

Homepage
Aufnahme-Philosophie
Label-Philosophie
Neuerscheinungen
Genuin News
Links
Team
Kontakt
Label-Philosophie
Weltweite Vertriebe
Genuin-Künstler

Thorsten Johanns, Klarinette

Der Klarinettist Thorsten Johanns ist durch seine stilistische Vielseitigkeit und seine ausgeprägte musikalische Kommunikationsfähigkeit als Solist, Orchester- und Kammermusiker sowie als Lehrer gleichermaßen geschätzt und international gefragt.

Bereits im Alter von 22 Jahren erhielt er 1998, noch während seines Klarinettenstudiums bei Ralph Manno an der Hochschule für Musik & Tanz Köln, sein erstes festes Engagement als stellvertretender Soloklarinettist bei den Essener Philharmonikern, drei Jahre später wurde er Soloklarinettist im WDR Sinfonieorchester Köln. Diese Position hatte er bis 2015 inne und gastiert dort weiterhin regelmäßig.

Als erster und bis heute einziger deutscher Klarinettist wurde Thorsten Johanns persönlich vom Chefdirigenten Alan Gilbert wiederholt nach New York eingeladen, um dort als Solo-Klarinettist mit dem New York Philharmonic Orchestra zu spielen. Weitere Gastengagements als Solo-Klarinettist führten ihn zu den Berliner Philharmonikern, dem Symphonieorchester des Bayerischen Rundfunks, den Münchner Philharmonikern, dem NDR Elbphilharmonie Orchester u.v.a.

Als Solist konzertiert Thorsten Johanns regelmäßig mit namhaften Orchestern und Dirigenten. In der Vergangenheit waren dies u.a. Sir Neville Marriner, Semyon Bychkov, das WDR-Sinfonieorchester Köln, das Orchestre de chambre de Paris, das Stavanger Symphony Orchestra und das Nationale Radio Orchester von Rumänien.

Zu seinen Kammermusikpartnern zählen neben namhaften Streichquartetten (Aris, Auryn, Diogenes, Minetti) auch der Oboist und Komponist Heinz Holliger und der Pianist und Komponist Moritz Eggert. Thorsten Johanns ist Mitglied des weltweit konzertierenden Ensemble Raro und der Deutschen Bläsersolisten. Des Weiteren ist er Mitglied des renommierten Ensembles Spectrum Concerts Berlin.

Thorsten Johanns war und ist Gast bei zahlreichen internationalen Festivals (Schleswig-Holstein, Mecklenburg-Vorpommern, Luzern, Tiroler Festspiele Erl, SoNoRo Bukarest, Rheingau Musikfestival, Budapest Festival Academy, Kuhmo Chamber Music Festival u.v.a.) und wirkte bei vielen erfolgreichen CD-Produktionen (u.a. ECHO-Klassik 2008) mit.

Im Jahre 2014 folgte Thorsten Johanns dem Ruf als Professor für Klarinette an die Musikhochschule Franz Liszt in Weimar. Er gibt zudem regelmäßig Meisterkurse. In den vergangenen Jahren wurde er hierfür nach China, Australien, Kanada, Deutschland, in die skandinavischen Länder und die Niederlande eingeladen.

Foto: Guido Werner

Die Künstler-Homepage: https://thorstenjohanns.com/


Johannes Brahms

Streichquartett c-Moll, op. 51,1, Klarinettenquintett h-Moll, op. 115

Aris Quartett - Thorsten Johanns, Klarinette

GEN 20704DetailsKatalog