Homepage
Recording Philosophy
Label Philosophy
New Releases
Genuin News
Links
Team
Contakt
Label Philosophy
Worldwide Distribution
Genuin Artists
     

Eva-Christina Schönweiß, Violin

Eva-Christina Schönweiß lives in Berlin and is principal second violin of the Deutsches Symphonie-Orchester (DSO). Her work as an honorary professor teaching a performance class of violin students at the Hanns Eisler School of Music is of great importance to her. In addition to many chamber concerts in a wide variety of formations, she is also the first violinist of the Niccolo Quartet, which is known for its lecture recital series.

She fondly remembers her early years playing the violin, first at the music school of the Hof Symphony Orchestra and then with Bruno Bauer (a teacher at the high school in Münchberg). She still maintains contact with him. His enthusiasm for music and the violin kindled a fire in her that has never stopped burning.

She completed her studies with Gerhart Hetzel at the University of Music and Performing Arts in Vienna and pursued further studies with Dorothy DeLay and Kurt Saßmannshaus in the US. She also received decisive impetus through many courses with Igor Ozim, Walter Forchert and from working on chamber music with the LaSalle and the Tokyo Quartet. In addition, she thoroughly enjoys the inspiring work with many outstanding colleagues and conductors at the DSO.

From 1994 to 2000 she was closely involved with the Aspen Music Festival as a teacher, soloist and concertmaster. Encouraging the next generation of musicians is very important to her. Among other projects, she is a co-founder of the Deutsches Symphonie-Orchester Academy as well as the DSO chamber music outreach project in schools in Berlin.

She firmly believes that “the desire to bring music closer to the listener in all its vitality, allowing one soul to touch another, lies at the core of all music making.”


The Duo Eva-Christina Schönweiß (Violin) and Kirsten Ecke (Harp)
The duo’s discography includes the CD Poésie and the fall 2018 release of the concert suite Le Petit Prince for violin, harp and orchestra by Jean-Pascal Beintus – which he dedicated to the duo – with the Deutsches Symphonie-Orchester Berlin conducted by Kent Nagano.

Photo: Ruediger Schestag


Auf dem Weg – In Transit

Works by Ryterband, Ravel, Rajna, Khayam, Damase, Piazzolla and Massenet

Eva-Christina Schönweiß, Violin - Kirsten Ecke, Harp

GEN 22763Katalog

Poésie

French Music for Violin and Harp Works by C.Saint-Saëns, J.-M.Damase, F.Boieldieu, J.Aubert and R.Bochsa

Eva-Christina Schönweiß, Violin - Kirsten Ecke, Harp

GMP 04504Katalog

Homepage
Aufnahme-Philosophie
Label-Philosophie
Neuerscheinungen
Genuin News
Links
Team
Kontakt
Label-Philosophie
Weltweite Vertriebe
Genuin-Künstler
     

Eva-Christina Schönweiß, Violine

Eva-Christina Schönweiß lebt in Berlin und ist Stimmführerin der 2. Violinen beim Deutschen Symphonie-Orchester (DSO). Als Honorarprofessorin leitet sie eine Violinklasse an der Hochschule für Musik „Hanns Eisler“ Berlin, die ihr sehr am Herzen liegt. Neben vielen Kammerkonzerten, die sie in unterschiedlichsten Besetzungen spielt, ist sie auch Primaria des Niccolo Quartetts, das für seine Gesprächskonzert-Reihe bekannt ist.

Gerne erinnert sie sich an ihre frühen Jahre mit der Geige, zunächst an der Musikschule der Hofer Symphoniker und dann bei Bruno Bauer (Musiklehrer am Gymnasium in Münchberg), der ihr bis heute verbunden ist. Seine Begeisterung für die Musik und die Geige hat ein Feuer in ihr entfacht, das nie aufgehört hat zu brennen.

Ihr Studium absolvierte sie bei Gerhart Hetzel an der Hochschule für Musik und darstellende Kunst in Wien und in USA bei Dorothy DeLay und Kurt Saßmannshaus. Prägende Impulse bekam sie auch auf vielen Kursen bei Igor Ozim, von Walter Forchert und durch die Kammermusikarbeit mit dem LaSalle und dem Tokyo Quartett. Dazu kommt die inspirierende Zusammenarbeit mit vielen erstklassigen Kolleg:innen und Dirigent:innen des DSO.

1994–2000 war sie als Dozentin, Solistin und Konzertmeisterin intensiv in das Aspen Music Festival involviert. Die Förderung des musikalischen Nachwuchses ist ihr sehr wichtig. So ist sie Mitbegründerin der Akademie des Deutschen Symphonie-Orchesters sowie des Kammermusikprojektes des DSO an Berliner Schulen.

Ihr Motto: „Im Mittelpunkt allen Musizierens steht der Wunsch den Hörern die Musik in ihrer Lebendigkeit nahe zu bringen und von Seele zu Seele zu berühren.“


Das Duo Eva-Christina Schönweiß (Violine) und Kirsten Ecke (Harfe)
Neben der CD Poésie ist im Herbst 2018 die Einspielung eines dem Duo gewidmeten Werkes von Jean-Pascal Beintus, die Suite Der Kleine Prinz für Violine, Harfe und Orchester, mit dem Deutschen Symphonie-Orchester Berlin unter Kent Nagano erschienen.

Foto: Ruediger Schestag


Auf dem Weg

Werke von Ryterband, Ravel, Rajna, Khayam, Damase, Piazzolla und Massenet

Eva-Christina Schönweiß, Violine - Kirsten Ecke, Harfe

GEN 22763DetailsKatalog

Poésie

Französische Musik für Violine und Harfe Werke von C.Saint-Saëns, J.-M.Damase, F.Boieldieu, J.Aubert und R.Bochsa

Eva-Christina Schönweiß, Violine - Kirsten Ecke, Harfe

GMP 04504DetailsKatalog