Homepage
Recording Philosophy
Label Philosophy
New Releases
Genuin News
Links
Team
Contakt
Label Philosophy
Worldwide Distribution
Genuin Artists
     

Fabian Bloch, Euphonium a.o.

Fabian Bloch is a voyager between musical worlds. And wherever he goes, his euphonium is always with him. He has played this instrument passionately since his childhood and graduated with distinction from the Bern University of the Arts and the Royal Northern College of Music in Manchester.

The euphonium is not everything the versatile musician carries in his luggage: often an alphorn or wunderhorn joins him as well, with which he demonstrates his varied skills during concerts of the Duo GIOVIVO.

Bloch, who grew up in Wisen, Switzerland, performs as a soloist at home and abroad and is a sought-after extra player with the leading Swiss symphony orchestras on the euphonium and bass trumpet. With his ensembles Duo GIOVIVO, woodtli, bloch & schaub, and Euphorimba, he is constantly on the move and always on the lookout for new challenges.

His previous solo euphonium albums Drive and Spot on! have been highly praised by international critics – also for his affinity for new compositions, which push the boundaries of the instrument to the utmost. Bloch’s work as a composer rounds out his multifaceted career.


Duo GIOVIVO
If Muriel Zeiter and Fabian Bloch had lived 300 years ago, they would certainly have been musicians in a commedia dellʼarte troupe. With their spirited playing, talent for improvisation, elegance, and wonderful sonority, the Duo GIOVIVO could easily have enchanted the Duke of Mantua himself.

The Duoʼs concept is already found in the name GIOVIVO: to present music to the audience in a lively way and full of joy. In addition to their main instruments, the piano and euphonium, the two professional musicians draw on a smorgasbord of sound sources. Sometimes they make use of a wunderhorn or a melodica, but also more conventional instruments such as the violin, alphorn, or flute.

Zeiter and Bloch set themselves no limits musically, as they effortlessly juggle elements from classical music and jazz and incorporate improvisations and experiments into their programs. What comes out is music that is full of surprises and unexpected twists yet always seems very organic.

Their first CD album Serendipity, released by GENUIN classics, was enthusiastically received by critics. The Duo GIOVIVO performs concerts in Switzerland and throughout Europe.




Picture: Tobias Epp

The Artist's Homepage: http://www.fabianbloch.ch


Rather Romantic

Beautiful Memories Told by the Euphonium

Fabian Bloch, Euphonium a.o. - Muriel Zeiter, Piano a.o.

GEN 22791Katalog

Serendipity

This is GIOVIVO

Fabian Bloch, Euphonium a.o. - Muriel Zeiter, Piano a.o.

GEN 22770Katalog

Spot on!

The Next Generation of Euphonium Music

Fabian Bloch, Euphonium a.o. - François Killian, Piano - Michael Meinen, Percussion

GEN 19679Katalog

Homepage
Aufnahme-Philosophie
Label-Philosophie
Neuerscheinungen
Genuin News
Links
Team
Kontakt
Label-Philosophie
Weltweite Vertriebe
Genuin-Künstler
     

Fabian Bloch, Euphonium u.a.

Fabian Bloch ist ein Wanderer zwischen musikalischen Welten. Immer dabei: sein Euphonium. Dieses Instrument spielt er seit seiner Kindheit leidenschaftlich, seine Studien an der Hochschule der Künste Bern sowie am Royal Northern College of Music in Manchester schloss er mit Auszeichnung ab.
In seinem Gepäck führt der vielseitige Musiker nicht nur das Euphonium mit: Oft gesellt sich ein Alphorn oder ein Wunderhorn dazu, mit denen er bei Konzerten des Duo GIOVIVO seine Vielfältigkeit unter Beweis stellt.

Der in Wisen (Schweiz) aufgewachsene Fabian Bloch spielt als Solist im In- und Ausland und ist bei den führenden Schweizer Sinfonieorchestern begehrter Zuzüger auf dem Euphonium und der Basstrompete. Mit seinen Ensembles Duo GIOVIVO, woodtli, bloch & schaub sowie Euphorimba ist er dauernd unterwegs und stets auf der Suche nach neuen Herausforderungen.

Seine bisherigen auf dem Euphonium eingespielten Solo-CDs Drive und Spot on! wurden von der internationalen Fachpresse hoch gelobt – auch wegen seiner Affinität zu neuen Kompositionen, welche die Möglichkeiten des Instruments bis aufs Äußerste ausreizen. Seine Tätigkeit als Komponist rundet Fabian Blochs vielschichtiges Schaffen ab.

Hier geht's zu einem Video-Porträt über Fabian Bloch von der Schweizer Zeitung Blick von Mai 2022.


Duo GIOVIVO
Hätten Muriel Zeiter und Fabian Bloch vor dreihundert Jahren gelebt, sie wären bestimmt als Musiker in eine Truppe der Commedia dellʼarte aufgenommen worden. Mit ihrem Esprit, ihrem Improvisationstalent, ihrer Eleganz und Klanglichkeit hätte das Duo GIOVIVO ohne weiteres selbst den Herzog von Mantua verzaubern können.

Schon im Namen GIOVIVO steckt das Konzept des Duos: Lebhaft und voller Freude soll Musik dem Publikum dargeboten werden. Die beiden professionellen Musiker greifen dabei nebst ihren Hauptinstrumenten Klavier und Euphonium auf ein Sammelsurium an Klangquellen zurück. Da kommen schon einmal ein Wunderhorn oder eine Melodika zum Einsatz, aber auch konventionellere Instrumente wie Geige, Alphorn oder Querflöte.

Musikalisch setzen sich Muriel Zeiter und Fabian Bloch keine Grenzen. Mühelos jonglieren sie mit Elementen aus der Klassik, dem Jazz, bauen Improvisationen und Experimente in ihr Programm ein. Was herauskommt, ist Musik voller Überraschungen und unerwarteter Wendungen, die stets sehr organisch wirkt.

Ihre erste CD Serendipity bei GENUIN classics wurde von der Fachpresse begeistert aufgenommen. Das Duo GIOVIVO spielt Konzerte in der Schweiz und in ganz Europa.





Foto: Tobias Epp

Die Künstler-Homepage: http://www.fabianbloch.ch


Rather Romantic

Beautiful Memories Told by the Euphonium

Fabian Bloch, Euphonium u.a. - Muriel Zeiter, Klavier u.a.

GEN 22791DetailsKatalog

Serendipity

This is GIOVIVO

Fabian Bloch, Euphonium u.a. - Muriel Zeiter, Klavier u.a.

GEN 22770DetailsKatalog

Spot on!

The Next Generation of Euphonium Music

Fabian Bloch, Euphonium u.a. - François Killian, Klavier - Michael Meinen, Perkussion

GEN 19679DetailsKatalog