Homepage
Recording Philosophy
Label Philosophy
New Releases
Genuin News
Links
Team
Contakt
Label Philosophy
Worldwide Distribution
Genuin Artists

Sharon Carty, Mezzo-soprano

Irish mezzo-soprano Sharon Carty is a singer who has firmly established a reputation as a respected interpreter of both early and contemporary works, alongside maintaining a busy schedule in mainstream opera and concert repertoire. She is an alumna of the RIAM Dublin, MDW Vienna, and Oper Frankfurt Young Artist Programme, and is currently an Artistic Partner to Irish National Opera as well as a Creative Associate on the Irish Arts Council pilot “Creative Schools” scheme.

Regularly praised for her musicality and intelligence, her integrity as an artist and the warmth, clarity and agility of her voice, her opera repertoire includes many of the important lyric and coloratura mezzo-soprano roles, such as Hänsel, Dido, Ruggiero, Dorabella, Cherubino, Ariodante, Orfeo and Sesto. On the concert platform her repertoire spans most of the major sacred concert works, including all the principal works by J. S. Bach as well as Messiah, Mozart’s Great Mass in C minor and a broad song repertoire in addition to numerous chamber music works. She is also a dedicated song recitalist, most recently appearing in performances with pianists Finghin Collins, Jonathan Ware and Graham Johnson.

Career highlights to date include her London, Amsterdam and New York opera debuts with The Second Violinist at the Barbican Theatre, the Muziekgebouw in Amsterdam, and the Park Avenue Armory, her Wexford Festival Opera debut as Lucy Talbot in the European première of William Bolcom’s Dinner at Eight, the title role in Irish National Opera’s critically-acclaimed Orfeo ed Euridice and her debut at the Festival dei Due Mondi in Spoleto, Italy, where she premiered a new opera, Proserpine by Silvia Colasanti, to critical acclaim.

A regular collaborator with orchestras across Europe, her discography includes La Traviata on DVD with the NDR Radiophilharmonie alongside Thomas Hampson and Marina Rebeka as well as The Mountebanks (Gilbert/Cellier) on CD with the BBC Concert Orchestra.

Photo: Frances Marshall

The Artist's Homepage: http://www.sharoncarty.com/


Schubert’s Four Seasons

Lieder for Voice and Piano by Franz Schubert

Sharon Carty, Mezzo-soprano - Jonathan Ware, Piano

GEN 20697Katalog

The Stream in the Valley

Songs and Duets by Benjamin Britten, Michael Head and John Ireland

Alison Browner, Mezzo-soprano - Sharon Carty, Mezzo-soprano - Andreas Frese, Piano

GEN 14300Katalog

Homepage
Aufnahme-Philosophie
Label-Philosophie
Neuerscheinungen
Genuin News
Links
Team
Kontakt
Label-Philosophie
Weltweite Vertriebe
Genuin-Künstler

Sharon Carty, Mezzosopran

Die irische Mezzosopranistin Sharon Carty hat sich neben ihrem stets gefüllten Opern- und Konzertprogramm einen dauerhaften Ruf als angesehene Interpretin früher und zeitgenössischer Werke erworben. Sie ist Absolventin der Royal Irish Academy of Music in Dublin, der Universität für Musik und darstellende Kunst Wien sowie des Opernstudios der Oper Frankfurt. Darüber hinaus ist sie derzeit künstlerische Partnerin der Irischen Nationaloper und künstlerische Mitarbeiterin im „Creative Schools“-Programm des Irish Arts Council.

Sharon Carty wird regelmäßig für ihre Musikalität und Intelligenz, ihre künstlerische Integrität sowie für die Wärme, Klarheit und Beweglichkeit ihrer Stimme gelobt. Ihr Opernrepertoire umfasst eine Vielzahl zentraler Rollen für lyrischen Mezzosopran und Koloratur-Mezzosopran, darunter Hänsel, Dido, Ruggiero, Dorabella, Cherubino, Ariodante, Orfeo und Sesto. Im Konzertbereich reicht ihr Repertoire von den großen sakralen Werken, einschließlich aller Hauptwerke von J. S. Bach, Händels Messias und Mozarts Große Messe in c-Moll, über ein umfassendes Liedrepertoire bis hin zu zahlreichen Kammermusikwerken.

Sie gibt häufig Liederabende und trat zuletzt gemeinsam mit Pianisten wie Finghin Collins, Jonathan Ware und Graham Johnson auf. Zu den bisherigen Höhepunkten ihrer Karriere zählen ihr Operndebüt in The Second Violinist am Barbican Theatre in London, dem Muziekgebouw in Amsterdam und der Park Avenue Armory in New York, ihr Debütauftritt als Lucy Talbot in der europäischen Premiere von William Bolcoms Dinner at Eight an der Festspieloper Wexford, die Titelrolle in der hochgelobten Inszenierung von Orfeo ed Euridice an der Irischen Nationaloper sowie ihr Debüt beim Festival dei Due Mondi im italienischen Spoleto, wo sie unter Beifall der Kritiker an der Premiere der neuen Oper Proserpine des Komponisten Silvia Colasanti mitwirkte.

Sharon Carty arbeitet regelmäßig mit Orchestern in ganz Europa zusammen. Ihre Diskografie umfasst unter anderem die auf DVD erschienene La Traviata mit Thomas Hampson, Marina Rebeka und der NDR-Radiophilharmonie sowie The Mountebanks (Gilbert/Cellier) mit dem BBC-Konzertorchester auf CD.

Foto: Frances Marshall

Die Künstler-Homepage: http://www.sharoncarty.com/


Schubert’s Four Seasons

Lieder für Stimme und Klavier Franz Schubert

Sharon Carty, Mezzosopran - Jonathan Ware, Klavier

GEN 20697DetailsKatalog

The Stream in the Valley

Songs and Duets by Benjamin Britten, Michael Head and John Ireland

Alison Browner, Mezzosopran - Sharon Carty, Mezzosopran - Andreas Frese, Klavier

GEN 14300DetailsKatalog