Homepage
Recording Philosophy
Label Philosophy
New Releases
Genuin News
Links
Team
Contakt
Genuin News
Dates

Matthias Well in the Top 20 of the German Classical Charts


10.10.2017: The GENUIN violinist Matthias Well conquers the classical music charts: In October his CD "Funeralissimo" landed at number 16 in the German charts. "Funeralissimo" was released in September and has already been enthusiastically acclaimed by the press: "... virtuoso, empathic and played with verve", noted MDR Kultur. "Matthias Well sings so expressively and animatedly on his violin that it is a joy", commented the German broadcaster Deutschlandfunk.



Born in 1993, the Bavarian musician Matthias Well is interested in an old family tradition of music that is played at wakes and funerals. In his search for the now almost completely forgotten guild of the so-called Trauergeiger ("mourning violinists"), Matthias Well encountered dirges from different cultures.

With the concept for funeral music from all over the world and his sensitive playing, Well won the Fanny Mendelssohn Prize in 2017 and thereby the production of a CD by GENUIN classics. Together with violoncellist Maria Well and accordion player Zdravko Živkovič, he has managed to create a multifaceted album featuring international funeral music by 17 different composers.

Here is where you can prelisten to tracks and buy the CD.

Homepage
Aufnahme-Philosophie
Label-Philosophie
Neuerscheinungen
Genuin News
Links
Team
Kontakt
Genuin News
Termine

Matthias Well in den Top 20 der deutschen Klassik-Charts


10.10.2017: Der GENUIN-Violinist Matthias Well erobert die Klassik-Charts: Im Oktober stieg seine CD „Funeralissimo“ auf Platz 16 der deutschen Charts ein. "Funeralissimo" wurde im September veröffentlicht und von der Presse bereits begeistert besprochen: "... virtuos, empathisch und mit Verve gespielt“, heißt es beispielsweise auf MDR Kultur. "Matthias Well singt auf seiner Violine so expressiv und beseelt, dass es eine Freude ist", kommentierte der Deutschlandfunk.



Der 1993 geborene Matthias Well aus Bayern beschäftigt sich aus alter Familientradition mit Musik, die auf Beerdigungen gespielt wird. Auf der Suche nach der heute fast völlig vergessenen Zunft der sogenannten "Trauergeiger" stieß er auf Musik aus verschieden Kulturen.

Mit dem Konzept für Trauermusik aus aller Welt und seinem einfühlsamen Spiel hatte Well den Fanny-Mendelssohn-Förderpreis 2017 gewonnen und damit die Produktion einer CD durch GENUIN classics. Gemeinsam mit Violoncellistin Maria Well und dem Akkordeonisten Zdravko Živkovič ist ihm mit Funeralissimo ein vielschichtiges Album mit internationalen Trauerharmonien von 17 verschiedenen Komponisten gelungen.

Zur CD und einer Übersicht über die Rezensionen