Homepage
Recording Philosophy
Label Philosophy
New Releases
Genuin News
Links
Team
Contakt
Genuin News
Dates

Enthusiastic Press Coverage for Christoph Sietzen


20.7.2017: "With original compositions and unique arrangements, Sietzen ignites a firework of sonic variety and virtuoso percussion witchcraft that can even fascinate listeners who hitherto approached new music with reserve," writes Werner Theurich about the CD "Attraction" by Christoph Sietzen.

Since the release of the young percussionist's CD back in June, it has received enthusiastic praise. "Christoph Sietzen is a talent of the century," comments the Stuttgarter Zeitung. "An exceptional talent of the century – there is no lack of superlatives for the percussionist Christoph Sietzen,” a portrait in RBB Kulturradio enthused.

And the media coverage continues to resound: In SR 2 Kultur, the release was selected as CD of the week. Christoph Sietzen was also invited to interviews with the television broadcasters BR Fernsehen and NDR Kultur. The trade journals also celebrate the musician, as can be seen for example in RONDO magazine: "This young man masters the rare art of being able to sing on his percussion instruments – bringing about a revolution for the marimbaphone."

About the artist

Christoph Sietzen, a prizewinner of the ARD International Music Competition and a "Rising Star" of the European Concert Hall Organization, will be performing in Europe’s leading concert venues during the 2017/2018 season.



The Salzburg-born Luxembourger has been a pupil of Martin Grubinger Senior since he was six years old. He later studied marimba with Bogdan Bácanu and percussion with Leonhard Schmidinger and Josef Gumpinger at the Anton Bruckner Private University in Linz, where he graduated with honors.

Moreover, Christoph Sietzen, who gave his debut at the Salzburg Festival at the age of twelve, began teaching at the University of Music and Performing Arts Vienna when he was 22 years old.

More information about the artist

Releases

Click here to preview or purchase the CD "Attraction."

Further CDs by Christoph Sietzen include the recordings in which he was a member of The Wave Quartet marimba ensemble. The first two releases in 2008 and 2009 were followed by the CD Loco and Lauda Concertana, released by GENUIN.

Calendar

You can experience and hear Christoph Sietzen’s artistry at one of his next concerts:

13–19 August: Graz, Percussion meets Identity (course)
19 August: Styrian Music Festival
14–25 August: International Summer Academy of the Mozarteum Salzburg, Austria
17 September: The Wave Quartet, 'Open Classic' Brucknerhaus Linz, Austria
21–23 September The Wave Quartet with the Symphonieorchester Vorarlberg, Austria
14 October: Recital with The Wave Quartet, Magdeburg
23 October: Recital Cologne Philharmonic (ECHO Rising Stars Tour)



Photography: Daniel Delang (colored picture), Patrick Marek (black and white picture)

Homepage
Aufnahme-Philosophie
Label-Philosophie
Neuerscheinungen
Genuin News
Links
Team
Kontakt
Genuin News
Termine

Begeistertes Presse-Echo für Christoph Sietzen


20.7.2017: „Mit Originalkompositionen und originellen Bearbeitungen brennt Sietzen ein Feuerwerk klanglicher Vielfalt und virtuoser Schlagtechnik-Hexerei ab, das auch Hörer faszinieren kann, die bisher Neuer Musik eher zurückhaltend begegneten“, schreibt Werner Theurich über die CD „Attraction“ von Christoph Sietzen.

Seit die CD des jungen Perkussionisten im Juni erschien, wird sie mit Begeisterung besprochen: „Christoph Sietzen gilt als Jahrhunderttalent“, heißt es in der Stuttgarter Zeitung, „Jahrhundert- oder Ausnahmetalent – an Superlativen fehlt es für den Schlagwerker Christoph Sietzen wahrlich nicht", in einem
Porträt im rbb Kulturradio.

Und das Presse-Echo hallt weiter: Im SR 2 Kultur wurde die Veröffentlichung zur CD der Woche gekürt, Christoph Sietzen ins BR Fernsehen und vom NDR Kultur zum Interview eingeladen. Auch die Fachmagazine feiern den Musiker. „Dieser junge Mann beherrscht die seltene Kunst, auf seinem Schlagwerk zu singen – und bewirkt eine Revolution für das Marimbafon“, schreibt beispielsweise das RONDO Magazin.

Über den Künstler

Christoph Sietzen ist unter anderem Preisträger des Internationalen Musikwettbewerbs der ARD sowie „Rising Star“ der European Concert Hall Organisation und wird in diesem Rahmen in der Saison 2017/2018 in den bedeutendsten Konzerthäusern Europas konzertieren.



Der in Salzburg geborene Luxemburger lernte seit seinem sechsten Lebensjahr bei Martin Grubinger Sen. und studierte später Marimba bei Bogdan Bácanu und Schlagwerk bei Leonhard Schmidinger und Josef Gumpinger an der Anton Bruckner Privatuniversität Linz, wo er sein Studium mit Auszeichnung abschloss.

Darüber hinaus begann Christoph Sietzen, der im Alter von zwölf Jahren sein Debüt bei den Salzburger Festspielen gab, mit bereits 22 Jahren an der Universität für Musik und darstellende Kunst Wien zu unterrichten.

Weitere Infos über den Künstler

Veröffentlichungen

Zur CD "Attraction" zum Vorhören oder Kaufen

Weitere CD-Veröffentlichungen Christoph Sietzens umfassen die Aufnahmen, an denen er als Mitglied des Marimba-Ensembles The Wave Quartet beteiligt war. Auf die ersten beiden Veröffentlichungen 2008 und 2009 folgten die CD Loco und Lauda Concertana, die bei GENUIN erschienen.

Termine

Auf einem seiner nächsten Konzerte kann man die Klangkunst von Christoph Sietzen erleben und hören:

13.-19.8. Graz, Percussion meets Identity (Kurs)
19.8. Steirisches Musikfestival
14.-25.8. Internationale Sommerakademie Mozarteum Salzburg, Österreich
17.9. The Wave Quartet, 'Open Classic' Brucknerhaus Linz, Österreich
21.-23.9. The Wave Quartet mit dem Symphonieorchester Voralberg, Österreich
14.10. Recital mit The Wave Quartet, Magdeburg
23.10. Recital Kölner Philharmonie (ECHO Rising Stars Tournee)



Bilder: Daniel Delang (Farbfoto), Patrick Marek (Schwarz-Weiß-Fotos)