Homepage
Recording Philosophy
Label Philosophy
New Releases
Genuin News
Links
Team
Contakt
Genuin News
Dates

Winner of the Fanny Mendelssohn Förderpreis: Matthias Well wins debut CD production at GENUIN


30.1.2017: Often sad, but sometimes surprisingly joyful: the violinist Matthias Well convinced the jury of this year's Fanny Mendelssohn Förderpreis ("Fanny Mendelssohn sponsorship award") with dirges from all parts of the world. He won the first prize for his extraordinarily sensitive playing and the well thought-out recording concept in Hamburg last Sunday, thereby winning a debut CD production with GENUIN Classics.

Born in 1993, the Bavarian musician Matthias Well is interested in an old family tradition of music that is played at wakes and funerals. In his search for the now almost completely forgotten guild of the so-called Trauergeiger ("mourning violinists"), Matthias Well encountered dirges from different cultures. Much of it has been rewritten for violin and accordion. The accordionist Zdravko Živkovič accompanied him during his performance.

This year's jury consisted of the journalist Jürgen Kesting, the managing director of the Mendelssohn-Haus Jürgen Ernst, the dramaturge Dieter Rexroth, the cellist Niklas Schmidt, the director of the Mecklenburg-Vorpommern Festival Markus Fein and the concert manager of the Dresden Frauenkirche Ralf Ruhnau. The GENUIN sound engineer Holger Busse was also present.

The Fanny Mendelssohn Förderpreis is a private initiative of Heide Schwarzweller, a native of Hamburg, and was awarded this year for the third time. The winner receives the possibility to a CD-production of his own conception with GENUIN.





Homepage of the Förderpreis

Homepage
Aufnahme-Philosophie
Label-Philosophie
Neuerscheinungen
Genuin News
Links
Team
Kontakt
Genuin News
Termine

Fanny Mendelssohn Förderpreis: Matthias Well gewinnt Debüt-CD-Produktion bei GENUIN


30.1.2017: Oft traurig, aber manchmal überraschend fröhlich: Mit Trauermusik aus allen Teilen der Welt überzeugte der Geiger Matthias Well die Jury des diesjährigen Fanny Mendelssohn Förderpreises. Für sein außergewöhnlich einfühlsames Spiel und das durchdachte Aufnahmekonzept gewann er am Sonntag in Hamburg den ersten Preis und damit eine Debüt-CD-Produktion mit GENUIN.

Der 1993 geborene Matthias Well aus Bayern beschäftigt sich aus alter Familientradition mit Musik, die auf Trauerfeiern und Beerdigungen gespielt wird. Auf der Suche nach der heute fast völlig vergessenen Zunft der sogenannten "Trauergeiger" stieß er auf Trauermusik aus verschieden Kulturen. Vieles davon hat er für Geige und Akkordeon umschreiben lassen. Während seines Vorspiels begleitete ihn der Akkordeonist Zdravko Živkovič.

Die diesjährige Jury bestand aus dem Journalisten Jürgen Kesting, dem Geschäftsführer des Mendelsson-Haus e.V. Jürgen Ernst, dem Dramaturgen Dieter Rexroth, dem Cellisten Niklas Schmidt, dem Intendanten der Festspiele Mecklenburg-Vorpommern Markus Fein, dem Konzertmanager der Frauenkirche Dresden Ralf Ruhnau, und auch der GENUIN-Tonmeister Holger Busse war dabei.

Der Fanny Mendelssohn Förderpreis ist eine Privatinitiative der Hamburgerin Heide Schwarzweller und wurde in diesem Jahr zum dritten Mal vergeben. Dem Gewinner wird eine CD-Produktion seines Aufnahmekonzeptes bei GENUIN ermöglicht.








Zur Homepage des Förderpreises