Homepage
Recording Philosophy
Label Philosophy
New Releases
Genuin News
Links
Team
Contakt
New Releases
Genuin Editions
Genuin CD Catalogue
Search Genuin CDs
GEN 86064 23.6.2006
18.90 €

Ralph Vaughan Williams (1872-1958)  
Sea Songs (1923)
Ralph Vaughan Williams  
Concerto for bass tuba and orchestra (1954)
I. Prelude. Allegro moderato
II. Romanza. Andante sostenuto
III. Finale, Rondo alla Tedesca. Allegro
Ralph Vaughan Williams  
Symphony No. 5 in D major (1938-43)
I. Preludio
II. Scherzo
III. Romanza
IV. Passacaglia
   

Ralph Vaughan Williams


Sea Songs
Concerto for Bass Tuba
Symphony No. 5


In stock, shipping in 1-2 days.


We offer free shipping worldwide!
Please read our General Terms and Conditions and Privacy Statement carefully.

A Tuba in Love­: Hilger's Magical Tones

If you ask an Englishman how he feels about Ralph Vaughan Williams, he will most likely begin to wax lyrical about the music. If you ask a German, however, he’d first go into a moment of quiet pondering. In response the Englishman might rummage in his CD collection in order to quickly close the glaring deficiency in the German’s cultural knowledge. The Englishman might also add that Germany would do well by giving a more prominent place on concert podiums and in the CD cabinet to such a noteworthy composer in the tradition of Edward Elgar.
Walter Hilgers, a brilliant conductor and exceptional tuba soloist, has graced our Genuin label by capturing the essence of the ever dynamic Vaughan Williams­a composer true to his inner melodic voice who produced magical sounds.
Whoever has listened to the traditional English Romance of the tuba concerto or experienced the foggy summer morning in Kent evoked in the slow final movement of his 5th symphony as performed by the Staatsorchester Frankfurt/Oder should be on their guard and set some time aside: it could be that Vaughan-Williams (and Walter Hilgers) will really get them hooked...

"Walter Hilgers conducts and plays the solos with a spirited elegance - highly recommended." Clarino 10/2006

Homepage
Aufnahme-Philosophie
Label-Philosophie
Neuerscheinungen
Genuin News
Links
Team
Kontakt
Neuerscheinungen
Genuin Editionen
Genuin CD-Katalog
Genuin CD-Suche

GEN 86064 23.6.2006
18.90 €

Ralph Vaughan Williams (1872-1958)  
Sea Songs (1923)
Ralph Vaughan Williams  
Concerto for bass tuba and orchestra (1954)
I. Prelude. Allegro moderato
II. Romanza. Andante sostenuto
III. Finale, Rondo alla Tedesca. Allegro
Ralph Vaughan Williams  
Symphony No. 5 in D major (1938-43)
I. Preludio
II. Scherzo
III. Romanza
IV. Passacaglia
   

Ralph Vaughan Williams


Sea Songs
Konzert für Bass-Tuba und Orchester
Sinfonie Nr. 5

Die verliebte Tuba: Hilgers magische Klänge

Wenn Sie einen Engländer fragen, was er von Ralph Vaughan Williams hält, gerät er vermutlich ins Schwärmen. Fragen Sie jedoch einen Deutschen, wird er sicherlich erst einmal ins Grübeln kommen. Was den Engländer veranlassen dürfte, in seiner CD-Sammlung zu kramen und diese unverzeihliche Bildungslücke so schnell wie möglich zu schließen: Auch in Deutschland gebühre, so meint er, dem Erben Edward Elgars ein prominenterer Platz auf den Konzertpodien und im Schallplattenschrank.
Walter Hilgers, brillanter Dirigent und wirklicher Ausnahme-Tubist, bricht nun bei Genuin eine Lanze für den wahrhaftigen, stets sich entwickelnden Künstler Vaughan Williams, für den unheilbaren Melodiker, für den Schöpfer geradezu magischer Klänge.
Wer einmal in die altenglische Romanze des Tubakonzertes hineingehört hat, wer den nebligen Sommermorgen in Kent erlebt hat, wie ihn das Staatsorchester Frankfurt/Oder im langsamen Satz der 5. Symphonie malt, der sollte sich vorsehen: Es könnte sein, dass Vaughan Williams (und Walter Hilgers) süchtig machen...

"Walter Hilgers dirigiert und spielt die Soli lustvoll elegant...Sehr empfehlenswert. " Clarino 10/2006