Homepage
Recording Philosophy
Label Philosophy
New Releases
Genuin News
Links
Team
Contakt
Label Philosophy
Worldwide Distribution
Genuin Artists

Gernsheim-Duo

The Gernsheim-Duo devotes itself to the songs of Jewish composers who were active before the Holocaust and are forgotten today. It was founded in 2015 by soprano Anna Gann and pianist Naoko Christ-Kato. Both musicians maintain an extensive solo concert career.

Anna Gann, born in 1973, grew up in the Hanover region. With a degree in Catholic theology, she is the author of several ARD radio features about Judaism. She received her vocal training in Münster and Hanover. Gann has been a prizewinner of the Euregio Vocal Competition in Wisch, the Netherlands, performed works for soprano, flute, and harp for the Norddeutscher Rundfunk, and given guest appearances at the Göttingen International Handel Festival.

Naoko Christ-Kato was born in 1976 in Yokohama and studied piano in Tokyo, Hanover, and Lübeck, where she graduated with the Artistic Concert Exam. She is the winner of the Young Artist Piano Contest and the Best Players Contest in Japan. In 2004 she premiered the piece Invention & Etude by American composer Michael Tenzer (born 1957), and in 2009 she recorded Tenzer’s work Let Others Name You on CD.

With their programs, the Gernsheim-Duo recall the fl ourishing Jewish life in Europe before the Holocaust. They hope to make heard once again a part of the riches that were lost. They are also committed to ensuring that works of forgotten Jewish composers are not only performed in special and memorial concerts, but also find their way into normal concert programs.

In addition to the songs of Friedrich Gernsheim, their extensive repertoire includes works by Karl Goldmark and Salomon Jadassohn, among other composers. The ensemble has performed at the Jewish-Israeli Cultural Days in Thuringia and in cities such as Hanover, Kassel, Meiningen, Hiroshima, and Tokyo.

Picture: Marie Liebig

The Artist's Homepage: http://www.gernsheim-duo.com


Hidden Treasures

Lieder by Friedrich Gernsheim (1839–1916)

Gernsheim-Duo

GEN 19662Katalog

Homepage
Aufnahme-Philosophie
Label-Philosophie
Neuerscheinungen
Genuin News
Links
Team
Kontakt
Label-Philosophie
Weltweite Vertriebe
Genuin-Künstler

Gernsheim-Duo

Das Gernsheim-Duo widmet sich dem Liedschaffen jüdischer Komponisten, die vor dem Holocaust wirkten und heute vergessen sind. Es wurde 2015 von der Sopranistin Anna Gann und der Pianistin Naoko Christ-Kato gegründet. Beide Musikerinnen pflegen eine umfangreiche solistische Konzerttätigkeit.

Anna Gann, geboren 1973, wuchs in der Region Hannover auf. Die katholische Diplom-Theologin ist Autorin mehrerer ARD-Hörfunkbeiträge über das Judentum. Ihre Gesangausbildung erhielt sie in Münster und Hannover. Sie war Preisträgerin des Euregio-
Vokalwettbewerbs, spielte für den Norddeutschen Rundfunk Werke für Sopran, Querflöte und Harfe ein und gastierte unter anderem bei den Internationalen Händel-Festspielen Göttingen.

Naoko Christ-Kato wurde 1976 in Yokohama geboren und studierte Klavier in Tokio, Hannover und Lübeck, wo sie das Studium mit dem Künstlerischen Konzertexamen abschloss. Sie ist Preisträgerin des „Young artist piano contest“ und des „Best players contest“ in Japan. 2004 brachte sie das Stück Invention & Etude des US-amerikanischen Komponisten Michael Tenzer (*1957) zur Uraufführung, 2009 spielte sie Tenzers Werk Let Others Name You auf CD ein.

Mit seinen Programmen erinnert das Gernsheim-Duo an das blühende jüdische Leben in Europa vor dem Holocaust. Es möchte einen Teil des Reichtums, der verloren ging, wieder hörbar machen. Dabei setzt es sich auch dafür ein, dass Werke vergessener jüdischer Komponisten nicht nur in Sonder- und Gedenkkonzerten gespielt werden, sondern auch Eingang in gewöhnliche Konzertprogramme finden.

Zu seinem umfangreichen Repertoire gehören neben den Liedern Friedrich Gernsheims auch Werke anderer Komponisten wie Karl Goldmark und Salomon Jadassohn. Das Ensemble gastierte unter anderem bei den Jüdisch-Israelischen Kulturtagen Thüringen und in Städten wie Hannover, Kassel, Meiningen, Hiroshima und Tokio.

Foto: Marie Liebig

Die Künstler-Homepage: http://www.gernsheim-duo.com


Verborgene Schätze

Lieder von Friedrich Gernsheim (1839–1916)

Gernsheim-Duo

GEN 19662DetailsKatalog