Homepage
Recording Philosophy
Label Philosophy
New Releases
Genuin News
Links
Team
Contakt
Label Philosophy
Worldwide Distribution
Genuin Artists

Yekwon Sunwoo, Piano

The press has praised pianist Yekwon Sunwoo for his incredible richness of articulation, singling out his remarkably smooth-contoured, singing tone that will be transported in reverie, then punctuated by flashes of dramatic fanfare before hovering between earthly and cosmic realms. With his unpretentious personality at the total service of the music, his performances are truly musical events.

Yekwon Sunwoo has given concert debuts at Carnegie Hall, Wigmore Hall, the Mozart Saal at the Alte Oper Frankfurt, Berliner Philharmonie, Radio France, Salle Cortot and Hamarikyu Asahi Hall. Highlights of recent seasons have included orchestra debuts with the Orchestre National de Belgique, Baltimore Symphony Orchestra, Sendai Philharmonic Orchestra and Nagoya Philharmonic Orchestra, in addition to further festival appearances in Germany, Switzerland and the Czech Republic.

Born in Anyang, South Korea in 1989, his career began as a typical childhood dream. He already had clear ideas about his future by the age of ten: he wanted to one day become a successful concert pianist. His teachers have included Seymour Lipkin, Robert McDonald and Bernd Goetzke; after earning his Master’s Degree, he studied at the Mannes School of Music with American pianist Richard Goode.

While still young, Yekwon Sunwoo emerged as a prizewinner in major competitions. As winner of the 2014 Vendome Prize at the celebrated Verbier Festival, he was praised for his soft, caressing touch in quiet passages and his total command over the instrument, as well as his highly expressive playing. He also won first prizes at the Sendai International Music Competition, International Concours Piano Campus in France (including the audience prize) and William Kapell International Piano Competition (including several audience and chamber music prizes). In addition, he was a laureate of the Queen Elisabeth Competition and Fifth International German Piano Award.

Picture: Bonsook Koo


Crossing Spheres

Works by Beethoven, Chopin, Liszt and Tchaikovsky

Yekwon Sunwoo, Piano

GEN 17475Katalog

Homepage
Aufnahme-Philosophie
Label-Philosophie
Neuerscheinungen
Genuin News
Links
Team
Kontakt
Label-Philosophie
Weltweite Vertriebe
Genuin-Künstler

Yekwon Sunwoo, Piano

Die Presse beschreibt Yekwon Sunwoo als einen Pianisten, der über ein enormes Spektrum an Artikulationsweisen verfügt. Er habe einen ungemein sanglichen, geschmeidigen Klang, der mal ins Träumerische entrückt und mal durchzuckt von dramatischen Fanfaren zwischen irdischen und kosmischen Sphären schwebt. Seine unprätentiöse Persönlichkeit ganz im Dienste der Musik machen seine Auftritte zu einem musikalischen Erlebnis.

Konzertdebüts führten Yekwon Sunwoo in die Carnegie Hall, Wigmore Hall, den Mozart Saal, die Alte Oper Frankfurt, die Berliner Philharmonie, zu Radio France, in den Salle Cortot und in die Hamarikyu Asahi Hall. Höhepunkte der vergangenen Spielzeiten umfassten Orchester-Debüts mit Orchestre National de Belgique, Baltimore Symphony Orchestra, Sendai Philharmonic Orchestra, Nagoya Philharmonic Orchestra und weitere Festival-Auftritte in Deutschland, der Schweiz und Tschechien.

Im Jahr 1989 in Anyang, Südkorea geboren, begann seine Karriere als gewöhnlicher Kindertraum. Bereits mit zehn Jahren hatte er eine klare Vorstellung von seiner Zukunft: Er wollte eines Tages ein erfolgreicher Konzertpianist sein. Zu seinen Lehrern gehören Seymour Lipkin, Robert McDonald und Bernd Goetzke. Nach seinem Master-Abschluss arbeitete er an der Mannes School of Music des US-amerikanischen Pianisten Richard Goode.

Noch im jungen Alter ist Yekwon Sunwoo als Laureat bedeutender Wettbewerbe hervorgegangen. Als Gewinner des Vendome Prize 2014 des renommierten Verbier Festivals wurde er für seine sanften, zärtlichen Bewegungen in leisen Passagen und für seine absolute Kontrolle über das Instrument sowie für sein ausdrucksstarkes Spiel gelobt. Außerdem gewann er die Ersten Preise beim Internationalen Sendai Wettbewerb und beim International Concours Piano Campus in Frankreich inklusive des Publikumspreises; beim William Kapell International Piano Wettbewerb inklusive einiger Publikums- und Kammermusikpreise und wurde Laureat beim Königin-Elisabeth-Wettbewerb. Beim 5. Internationalen Deutschen Pianistenpreis wurde er als Laureat ausgezeichnet.

Foto: Bonsook Koo


Crossing Spheres

Werke von Beethoven, Chopin, Liszt und Tschaikowski

Yekwon Sunwoo, Piano

GEN 17475DetailsKatalog