Homepage
Recording Philosophy
Label Philosophy
New Releases
Genuin News
Links
Team
Contakt
Label Philosophy
Worldwide Distribution
Genuin Artists

Philipp Ahmann, Conductor

Philipp Ahmann was born in 1974 and studied conducting with Marcus Creed at the Hochschule für Musik in Cologne. He began working with radio choirs in 2005, and has since then worked as a guest conductor with the SWR Vocal Ensemble Stuttgart, the WDR Radio Choir Cologne and the Berlin Radio Choir. In 2008 Philipp Ahmann was appointed Chief Conductor of the North German Radio Choir in Hamburg. Under his direction the chorus in 2009 launched its own series of subscription concerts which has met with an enthusiastic response from audiences and critics alike and has now successfully established itself within Hamburg’s music scene.

Since 2010 Philipp Ahmann has collaborated closely with the MDR LEIPZIG RADIO CHOIR. In 2013 the ensemble appointed him Principal Guest Conductor for a period of three years and he continues to work with the choir on a regular basis.

Philipp Ahmann has been acclaimed not only for exploring a cappella repertoire from every musical period but also for his interpretation of oratorio works ranging from Baroque to contemporary. He has worked with early music orchestras such as Bell’arte Salzburg, B’Rock, Concerto con Anima, Concerto Köln, Le Concert Lorrain and the Elbipolis Baroque Orchestra Hamburg, ensembles specialising in contemporary music including the Raschèr Saxophone Quartet and Ensemble Resonanz as well as with the Gürzenich Orchestra Cologne, the MDR LEIPZIG RADIO SYMPHONY ORCHESTRA and the NDR Radiophilharmonie. Concerts with the NDR Bigband and NDR Brass as well as his involvement with the NDR sing-along project “SINGING!” with over 600 singers bear witness to his versatility.

A guest at renowned festivals such as Rheingau Music Festival, Schleswig Holstein Music Festival, Mecklenburg-Vorpommern Festival and the International Handel Festival Göttingen, Philipp Ahmann has released CDs with the NDR Choir and the MDR LEIPZIG RADIO CHOIR which have been received with critical acclaim.

Photography: Danny Wandelt

The Artist's Homepage: http://www.mdr.de/konzerte/rundfunkchor/philipp-ahmann-biographie100.html


O sanctissima – O du fröhliche

Christmas Songs from Germany and all over the World, Volume 2

MDR Rundfunkchor - Philipp Ahmann, Conductor

GEN 17484Katalog

Strålande Jul - Radiant Christmas

Christmas Songs from Germany and all over the World

MDR Rundfunkchor - Philipp Ahmann, Conductor

GEN 15381Katalog

Homepage
Aufnahme-Philosophie
Label-Philosophie
Neuerscheinungen
Genuin News
Links
Team
Kontakt
Label-Philosophie
Weltweite Vertriebe
Genuin-Künstler

Philipp Ahmann, Dirigent

Philipp Ahmann, geboren 1974, studierte an der Hochschule für Musik Köln Dirigieren bei Marcus Creed. Im Jahr 2005 begann er seine Arbeit bei Rundfunkchören. Seither war er unter anderem zu Gast beim SWR Vokalensemble, beim WDR Rundfunkchor sowie beim Rundfunkchor Berlin. 2008 wurde Philipp Ahmann Chefdirigent des NDR Chors in Hamburg. Unter seiner Leitung wurde 2009 eine eigene Abonnementreihe des Chors gegründet, die seither bei Publikum und Kritik begeisterten Anklang findet und sich erfolgreich im Hamburger Musikleben etablieren konnte.

Mit dem MDR RUNDFUNKCHOR verbindet ihn seit 2010 eine intensive Partnerschaft. 2013 ernannte ihn der Chor, mit dem er nach wie vor regelmäßig zusammenarbeitet, für drei Jahre zum 1. Gastdirigenten.

Neben der Erarbeitung der A-cappella-Literatur aller Epochen hat Philipp Ahmann sich auch einen Namen mit Interpretationen oratorischer Werke vom Barock bis zur Moderne gemacht. Dabei arbeitete er mit Orchestern der Alten Musik wie Bell’arte Salzburg, B’Rock, Concerto con Anima, Concerto Köln, Le Concert Lorrain und dem Elbipolis Barockorchester Hamburg und Spezialensembles der Neuen Musik wie dem Raschèr Saxophone Quartet und dem Ensemble Resonanz sowie dem Gürzenich-Orchester Köln, dem MDR SINFONIEORCHESTER und der NDR Radiophilharmonie zusammen. Produktionen mit der NDR Bigband und NDR Brass sowie die Leitung des NDR Mitsingprojektes „SINGING!“ mit mehr als 600 Sängerinnen und Sängern unterstreichen seine Vielseitigkeit.

Philipp Ahmann war zu Gast bei renommierten Festivals wie dem Rheingau Musikfestival, dem Schleswig-Holstein Musik Festival, den Festspielen Mecklenburg-Vorpommern und den Händel-Festspielen in Göttingen. Seine CD-Veröffentlichungen mit dem NDR Chor und dem MDR RUNDFUNKCHOR stießen bei der Kritik auf große Zustimmung.

Foto: Danny Wandelt

Die Künstler-Homepage: http://www.mdr.de/konzerte/rundfunkchor/philipp-ahmann-biographie100.html


O sanctissima – O du fröhliche

Weihnachtslieder aus Deutschland und aller Welt, Volume 2

MDR Rundfunkchor - Philipp Ahmann, Dirigent

GEN 17484DetailsKatalog

Strålande Jul - Strahlende Weihnacht

Weihnachtslieder aus Deutschland und aller Welt

MDR Rundfunkchor - Philipp Ahmann, Dirigent

GEN 15381DetailsKatalog