Homepage
Recording Philosophy
Label Philosophy
New Releases
Genuin News
Links
Team
Contakt
Label Philosophy
Worldwide Distribution
Genuin Artists

Kit Armstrong, piano

Only 20 years old, Kit Armstrong’s concert diary contains solo appearances with the Leipzig Gewandhausorchester, the Philharmonia Orchestra, the NDR Sinfonieorchester Hamburg, the Bamberger Symphoniker, l’Orchestre de la Suisse Romande, the Mozarteum Orchestra Salzburg and the Swedish Chamber Orchestra. He has collaborated with such conductors as Ivor Bolton, Riccardo Chailly, Thomas Dausgaard, Christoph von Dohnányi, Manfred Honeck, Sir Charles Mackerras, Bobby McFerrin, and Jonathan Nott. Orchestral tour projects during the 2011|2012 season are with the Scottish Chamber Orchestra and Robin Ticciati, as well as with Berlin’s Konzerthausorchester.

Chamber music is among of Kit Armstrong’s core interests, both as a pianist and a composer. He performs regularly with the Szymanowski String Quartet and in a trio with Andrej Bielow (violin) and Adrian Brendel (cello). During the 2011|2012 season, Kit Armstrong made his first appearance in a lied recital with Schubert’s Schwanengesang. Further highlights of the current season include recitals at Hamburg’s Laeiszhalle, the Philharmonie in Cologne and the Liederhalle in Stuttgart.

Kit Armstrong also is an accomplished composer who has written for a wide variety of ensembles. “Composing is the basis upon which I think about music”, says Armstrong (interview in Concerti magazine). His compositions include a quintet for piano and winds (premiered by members of the Concertgebouw Orchestra at the International Music Festival, The Hague) and a quintet for piano and strings. Among his commissions are a clarinet concerto for the Frankfurter Bachkonzerte (premiered at the Alte Oper in Frankfurt with Paul Meyer as soloist), a string quartet commissioned by the Gewandhausorchester Leipzig in honour of Alfred Brendel’s 80th birthday (premiered by the Szymanowski String Quartet), and “Half of One, Six Dozen of the Other”, a solo piano composition for Till Fellner. Further works are “Time flies like an arrow”, a piano trio for the Klavierfestival Ruhr, and a solo piano fantasy on B-A-C-H for the Sommerliche Musiktage Hitzacker. His most recent commission is “Andante”, an orchestral overture that was premiered by the Musikkollegium Winterthur in March 2012.

Armstrong has received 5 Morton Gould Young Composer Awards from the ASCAP Foundation in New York, including the prestigious Charlotte V. Bergen award for “Struwwelpeter: Character Pieces for Viola and Piano”. The Schleswig-Holstein Musik Festival honoured Armstrong with the 2010 Leonard Bernstein Award.

Following courses with Claude Frank at the Curtis Institute of Music, Armstrong moved to London for piano studies with Benjamin Kaplan, and graduated from the Royal Academy of Music in 2008. In recent years, Armstrong has derived inspiration from his mentor Alfred Brendel, who ascribes “an understanding of the great piano works that combines freshness and subtlety, emotion and intellect” to him.

Kit Armstrong began studying mathematics and science at university level at the age of 7. He has participated in MIT’s prestigious Research Science.

The Artist's Homepage: http://kitcarmstrong.webs.com/index.html


FREE LISTENING: CD Sampler 2013

10 Years GENUIN classics

Ramón Ortega Quero, Oboe - cello project - Eckart Runge, Jacques Ammon - sonic.art, Saxophon quartet - Viviane Chassot, accordion - Kit Armstrong, piano - Andrej Bielow, violin - Adrian Brendel, cello - Amaryllis Quartett - Tobias Koch, Piano - Paul Badura-Skoda, piano - Nicolas Altstaedt, cello - José Gallardo, piano - Michael Schäfer, piano - Toutes Suites - Camerata Musica Limburg - Dresdner Philharmonie - Michael Sanderling, Conductor

FREE LISTENINGKatalog

Piano Trios

By L. v. Beethoven, K. Armstrong, J. Haydn and F. Liszt

Kit Armstrong, piano - Andrej Bielow, violin - Adrian Brendel, cello

GEN 12239Katalog

Homepage
Aufnahme-Philosophie
Label-Philosophie
Neuerscheinungen
Genuin News
Links
Team
Kontakt
Label-Philosophie
Weltweite Vertriebe
Genuin-Künstler

Kit Armstrong, Klavier

Der Konzertkalender des erst 20-jährigen Pianisten und Komponisten Kit Armstrong enthält Soloengagements mit dem Leipziger Gewandhausorchester, dem Philharmonia Orchestra London, dem NDR Sinfonieorchester Hamburg, den Bamberger Symphonikern, dem Orchestre de la Suisse Romande, dem Mozarteum Orchester Salzburg und dem Swedish Chamber Orchestra. Dabei arbeitet er mit Dirigenten wie Ivor Bolton, Riccardo Chailly, Thomas Dausgaard, Christoph von Dohnányi, Manfred Honeck, Sir Charles Mackerras, Bobby McFerrin und Jonathan Nott zusammen. In der Saison 2011|2012 stehen Tourneen mit dem Scottish Chamber Orchestra unter Robin Ticciati sowie mit dem Konzerthausorchester Berlin in Kit Armstrongs Kalender.

Kammermusik zählt zu Kit Armstrongs zentralen Interessen. Dazu gehören regelmäßige Auftritte mit dem Szymanowski Quartet sowie im Trio mit Andrej Bielow (Violine) und Adrian Brendel (Violoncello). In der Saison 2011|2012 trat Kit Armstrong mit Schuberts Schwanengesang erstmals im Rahmen eines Liederabends in Erscheinung. Weitere Höhepunkte dieser Saison sind Konzerte in der Laeiszhalle Hamburg, der Kölner Philharmonie und der Liederhalle Stuttgart.

Kit Armstrong ist auch ein versierter Komponist und hat Werke für verschiedenste Besetzungen geschrieben. „Das Komponieren ist die Basis, auf der ich über Musik nachdenke“, sagt Kit Armstrong (Interview in Concerti). So entstanden bereits u.a. ein Quintett für Klavier und Bläser (uraufgeführt beim International Music Festival, The Hague von Mitgliedern des Concertgebouw Orkest) und ein Quintett für Klavier und Streicher. Seine Auftragswerke sind u.a. ein Klarinettenkonzert für die Frankfurter Bachkonzerte (uraufgeführt in der Alten Oper Frankfurt mit Paul Meyer als Solist), ein Streichquartett für das Leipziger Gewandhaus zu Alfred Brendels 80. Geburtstag (uraufgeführt vom Szymanowski Quartet), sowie „Half of One, Six Dozen of the Other“, eine für Till Fellner entstandene Komposition für Solo-Klavier. Weitere Werke sind „Time flies like an arrow“, ein Klaviertrio für das Klavierfestival Ruhr, sowie eine Fantasie für Solo-Klavier über B-A-C-H für die Sommerlichen Musiktage Hitzacker. Das jüngste Werk Kit Armstrongs, eine Ouvertüre mit dem Titel „Andante“, wurde im März 2012 vom Musikkollegium Winterthur uraufgeführt.

Kit Armstrong erhielt bereits fünf Morton Gould Young Composer Awards von der ASCAP Foundation in New York, darunter den angesehenen Charlotte v. Bergen-Preis für „Struwwelpeter: Charakterstücke für Viola und Klavier“. 2010 zeichnete ihn das Schleswig-Holstein Musik Festival mit dem Leonard Bernstein Award aus.

Nach Unterricht bei Claude Frank am Curtis Institute of Music zog Kit Armstrong nach London, um bei Benjamin Kaplan zu studieren. 2008 schloss er seine Studien an der Royal Academy of Music ab. Seit einigen Jahren erhält Kit Armstrong wichtige Impulse von seinem Mentor Alfred Brendel, der ihm ein „Verständnis der großen Klavierliteratur als eine Einheit von Gefühl und Verstand, Frische und Verfeinerung“ attestiert.

Ab seinem siebten Lebensjahr studierte Kit Armstrong an verschiedenen Universitäten Mathematik und Naturwissenschaften. Zudem nahm er am bekannten Research Science Institute des Massachusetts Institute of Technology teil. In seiner Freizeit kreiert Kit Armstrong gerne Origami-Figuren.

Die Künstler-Homepage: http://kitcarmstrong.webs.com/index.html


FREE LISTENING: CD Sampler 2013

10 Years GENUIN classics

Ramón Ortega Quero, Oboe - cello project - Eckart Runge, Jacques Ammon - sonic.art, Saxophonquartett - Viviane Chassot, Akkordeon - Kit Armstrong, Klavier - Andrej Bielow, Violine - Adrian Brendel, Violoncello - Amaryllis Quartett - Tobias Koch, Klavier - Paul Badura-Skoda, Klavier - Nicolas Altstaedt, Violoncello - José Gallardo, Klavier - Michael Schäfer, Klavier - Toutes Suites - Camerata Musica Limburg - Dresdner Philharmonie - Michael Sanderling, Dirigent

FREE LISTENINGDetailsKatalog

Klaviertrios

Von L. v. Beethoven, K. Armstrong, J. Haydn und F. Liszt

Kit Armstrong, Klavier - Andrej Bielow, Violine - Adrian Brendel, Violoncello

GEN 12239DetailsKatalog